2 of 2
Public School Coach Goes to Church—With Team
Posted: 15 September 2009 06:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  777
Joined  2007-09-16

If the founders wanted religion used as public policy, why did they write an estblishment clause that prevents state sponsered religion?

Well its a good thing that I’m studying 16th and 17th century European history in school right now because I know exactly why the the establishment clause was included.  The founding fathers, whether Christian or deist, understood the political, social and economic turmoil caused by the combination of Church and State.  In particular, the founding fathers would have been aware of English history, the 30 Years’ War, English civil war and the deposing of Charles I, Cromwell, the Glorious Revolution, etc. etc and the constant flux of Protestant and Catholic favor depending on which monarch was in power.  They would have known French history as well…the Huguenots, Cardinal Richelieu, the Edict of Nantes, Louis XIV, etc. etc.  The founders knew that the consciences of the American people should not be constantly vexed by the ever-changing religious motives of one man, or a few men.  They also knew that true religion could not flourish when it is bound up with political ends and sinful men.  To think that the establishment clause was presented as a dream of a secular America without religion, like some kind of 18th century John Lennon tribute, is innacurate and misleading, a clear example of 20th century religious sentiment imposed on revolutionary era America.

If the founders wanted a christian theocracy why did they not included the Ten Commandments, the words God or Jesus or any other religious verbage in our constitution?