5 of 7
"Range of happiness and suffering" confers moral s
Posted: 22 February 2007 10:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  405
Joined  2007-01-10

Salt Creek,

Please refresh my memory on what you think Sam Harris’ “entire thesis” is.

My understanding of Sam’s thesis is that people don’t need faith in extraordinary untestable propositions or dogmatic religion to be moral, and indeed, faith and religion are significant causes of immorality in history and today.  He advocates that both be abandoned and replaced with what is essentially a well-informed, highly rational secular humanism in which the happiness of individuals is a priority.

Not much time now, but will contemplate your other comments and post later.

Peace.

Posted: 22 February 2007 10:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]  
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-01-10

homunculus,

I am very interested in taking up with CanZen about linguistics, which is something I studied a bit in college.  Thanks for your encouraging words.

Parable, perhaps you will be so kind as to describe written material accurately. At least in comparison with past forum contributors who will remain unnamed (avoiding my own psychic scarring), S.C. is a prince.

Not sure what you mean here. I was referring to The End of Faith and Letter to a Christian Nation, neither of which seemed to use invective.  Do you disagree?  Or am I missing your meaning?

Posted: 22 February 2007 10:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2821
Joined  2005-04-29

Parable, I just don’t see invective in S.C.‘s words. Insult, absolutely. This is only my perspective, and I’m not inviting any kind of battlefront here.

Signature 

Philosophy may in no way interfere with the actual use of language; it can in the end only describe it. For it cannot give it any foundations either. It leaves everything as it is.
Ludwig Wittgenstein

Posted: 22 February 2007 05:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]  
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-01-10

homunculus,