6 of 7
"Range of happiness and suffering" confers moral s
Posted: 23 February 2007 04:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 76 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  405
Joined  2007-01-10

homunculus,

Whatever you want to tell us about yourself will be appreciated.

As for my professional credentials, I’ve been a physcial scientist at a large research university for 20 years.  My education was in chemistry, but my current field is materials science.  I collaborate on grant-funded research projects and proprietary industrial applications.  I operate several laboratories and have expertise in nanotechnology.  I hold a scientific patent and have published numerous peer-reviewed journal articles as well as a few pieces for educational magazines.  I have written policy at the university level.  I also run a large educational outreach internship in which I train university students to present unusual science demonstrations to k-8 students at local schools. 

Sometimes, I give presentations at parochial schools because I feel it is important to help people understand science in ways that are not hostile to their faith.  My approach is to present science from a biblical perspective, rather than the philosophical world-view known as methodological naturalism (MN).  I believe MN is an appropriate boundary condition on science, but not life.  More importantly, my hope is to inspire bright young minds to explore science for themselves, and thereby develop critical thinking skills which are vital in today’s world, and in their life of faith.  Some of the schools I go to are so conservative it takes an act of God to get permission from the administration to visit.  They are usuallhy concerned I might discuss the age of the earth or evolution.  I encourage my friends to read Sam’s books because I believe Sam truly has our best interests at heart and his arguments deserve our best attention.