Nationalism and shame
Posted: 05 May 2007 06:08 AM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  70
Joined  2007-04-29

I believe that nationalism is a dangerous thing.  Nationalism creates pride; the opposite of pride is shame.  As a teacher, I see the shame that immigrant children feel because they were not born in the US.  It manifests itself in shame of their ability to speak more than one language or the color of their hair.  We are all part of the human race.  If we promote pride in being lucky enough to have been born in a country that is developed, we promote shame for those not so lucky.  The two go hand in hand. To me, pride is the result of personal achievements, not luck.  One can be proud to have worked hard to get good grades.  If the grades came easily because one was fortunate enough to be born with a a photographic memory, the pride is lessoned.  One can be proud of one's muscular body if it is the result of having exercises 3 hours a day for a year; however, no pride should be derived of having been born with genes that lead to physical beauty.  That is the result of luck.  Pride can be derived from having a lot of money if one worked hard to get it and that's what one wants.  However, if one was left a fortune by a hard working parent, there is no pride in such wealth.  Again, it is simply the result of having been lucky enough to be born into a family that already had it, not the result of anything the person did to get it.  Sam Harris is the best thing to happen to American culture in a long time!

Posted: 05 May 2007 08:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1243
Joined  2006-12-26

Ok, it seems that most of your post concerned where pride is appropriate to feel, and where it is inappropriate.
I certainly agree to that some forms of nationalism is dangerous, but to cherish traditions handed down to you is not necessarily a bad thing, either.
It depends on what the tradition is about.