So when was David's empire again?
Posted: 20 August 2007 02:51 AM   [ Ignore ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  621
Joined  2006-12-05

I remember in ancient history class in high school studying the Assyrians, the Egyptians, the Babylonians, the Hittites, the Persians, etc. Strangely enough, we never covered the Israelites and their great empire under David and Solomon. In fact, it seemed like Israel was always a province of one empire or another.

Do fundies ever specify when this great Israelite empire was supposed to be?

Posted: 20 August 2007 07:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1835
Joined  2006-03-26

I work as an ed. tech for a student with Asbergers syndrome.  Last school year, he studied those ancient civilizations too, including the Israelites. No mention of David and Solomon, but they did discuss the region where the Hebrew religion first started and the legend of Abraham and Moses. The teacher said that the bible can be used as historical reference in certain things, but for the most part it’s a book based on the Hebrew religion and faith.

I went back and checked my notes on the lectures and I don’t have a lot, but it says that Judaism was the first monotheistic religion. But I don’t think that’s the case. I think monotheism started by an ancient Egyptian king.

Signature 

Bill Maher’s New Rule About Religious Tests for Office

Sam explains the difference between the belief in Elvis and belief in Jesus

Support the Separation of Church & State!
Freedom From Religion Foundation

Posted: 21 February 2008 08:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  110
Joined  2007-10-05

David’s empire wasn’t.