2 of 2
Update on Dover ID trial
Posted: 17 October 2005 03:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  102
Joined  2005-07-08

Last question first…

Look on the Discovery Institute website.  They are, as you no doubt know, the clearing house for this pap.

An interesting side note:  while 400 sounds impressive at first, on reflection, it is not really so.  There are somewhere between 400,000 and 1,000,000 scientists in the US alone, depending on how one defines “scientist.”  I can assure you, looking at the DI list, they were very generous in their definition.

This, however, does not address Salerio’s post, regarding the fact that some prominent names are on the list.  Even if one discards pseudo-intellectuals like George Gilder, there are real scientists who seem to believe in ID.  As a scientist, I struggle with this, too.  How can they believe this?  How do they reconcile the evidence with their beliefs?

I think it is important to remember, though, that even the very bright can become seemingly moronic, particularly when they venture outside their field of expertise.  An inventor of MRI for medical use, Dr Raymond Damadian, believes in more than just ID; he is on the board of the Answers in Genesis foundation, responsible for the Creation Museum.  And consider Nobel laureate Kari Mullis, inventor of PCR, who thinks that HIV is unrelated to AIDS, despite the considerable evidence to the contrary arising largely from his own field of molecular biology. 

One possible explanation for these phenomena is that some people, lauded for their intelligence in one area, become convinced of their superior intellect in ALL areas.  This, plus a little old time religion, can be enough to outweigh logic and reason.  Scientists are just people too.