2 of 2
Explaining why I post what I post
Posted: 17 December 2006 04:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  63
Joined  2006-10-01

See, that’s the thing—if you never were in a cult, you have a hard time understanding the process of getting out. Processing issues takes time, and it is not always easy. For those who never were in one, just be glad that you do not have to go through all this crap yourself, and live and let live. 

Posted: 18 December 2006 03:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  313
Joined  2006-11-03

Noggin’ :
    With regard to reading books like The End of Faith, and so many other outstanding, insightful and informative works—one of the things I was most uncomfortable with when I studied with the Jehovah’s Witnesses was the fact that they consider books such as Sam Harris’ (and I would guess Carl Sagan’s too) “apostate” literature.  I didn’t know what I was missing until I started to investigate “apostate” literature. 
    It was once apostasy to consider that the earth revolved around the sun.
    Have you seen the movie “The God Who Wasn’t There”?  I’m sure it would get a five-star apostasy rating!  It was very thought provoking, and one of the sources of inspiration for my current quest for truth.

Posted: 11 January 2007 11:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  101
Joined  2006-10-25

I posted about forums in which former Muslims can share their stories and trauma in the Islam section.  I’m sure you could post in former Mormon forums if you don’t already.  You are probably closer to peace than you think— I think I read where you don’t mind that your children are being raised as Mormons.  Since most people tend to protect their children from any perceived harm, this might be a benchmark to indicate your progress that you don’t see the church as harmful.

Good luck.

annalise

Posted: 11 January 2007 12:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1243