How did Christianity get started ?
Posted: 07 August 2011 06:29 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2011-08-07

I’ve been desperately trying to figure the course of events that lead to the creation of Christianity. I’m just a layman and I feel bad about asking what could be seen as asking others to do my homework for me, but I figure someone here might be more knowledgeable than myself and my meager research tools (Google/Bing) are running out of leads.

I guess the two biggest questions I want to ask are who did it get started with ?-

Did Jesus Exist ? Did the disciples/apostles actually know him ? Did the disciples/apostles exist ? I know some of the church fathers said they knew them. Did they make it up ? What would have been their (any of the parties’) motivation?

-And who added the supernatural elements.

Resurrections, feeding multitudes, coins from fish guts, walking on water ? Did the disciples believe in these things ? Did they exaggerate to win people to the cause. Why was it so important (the cause) to exaggerate ? Were they oral traditions or translation errors that popped up later ?

Posted: 07 August 2011 08:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  496
Joined  2005-02-22

There are many active threads discussing these issues at Harris’s other site…

http://www.project-reason.org/forum/

Signature 

Delude responsibly.

Posted: 08 August 2011 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  413
Joined  2005-06-05

I guess the two biggest questions I want to ask are who did it get started with ?-

Did Jesus Exist ? Did the disciples/apostles actually know him ? Did the disciples/apostles exist ? I know some of the church fathers said they knew them. Did they make it up ? What would have been their (any of the parties’) motivation?