Joined  2006-12-04

I found an amusing online ESP test.

http://sprott.physics.wisc.edu/pickover/esp3.html

Somebody figure this out for me.

Posted: 18 January 2007 02:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  277
Joined  2005-01-27

I tried the ESP test and it had me totally bewildered until ... after 6 tries, I figured it out!

See if you can solve the puzzle.  And for all you guys who like to skip right to the answers, be advised that reading through the suggested explanations won’t help.

You get the prize if you can solve it first time ‘round!

Susan

Signature 

“Believe those who seek the truth, doubt those who find it.”  Andre Gide

Posted: 25 January 2007 03:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-01-25

I took me less than a second to figure it out.

But I’m a former professional poker player, so I guess I’m not a fair subject for this kind of ESP… smile

Just like religion doesn’t like science scrutiny, card ESP doesn’t like professional poker players…

Posted: 25 January 2007 04:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  775
Joined  2006-12-04

Petrucio,

I think that ESP research would benefit from professional poker players.

At least they know the meaning of statistical probability.

If you believe in ESP, you know very little about statistics.
If you don’t, you know even less.

Posted: 25 January 2007 07:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-01-25

At least they know the meaning of statistical probability

Indeed they do. Professional poker players often come from science or math backgrounds.

Due to the reasoning behind their rationalle, I think most pro poker players would make good scientists, even if they didn’t come from a related area (I did).

I also think there’s a good chance many of them are also atheists/agnostics, but that is just a wild guess. Would make a good statistical research project, tho smile