2 of 6
Some sound governance
Posted: 17 July 2009 08:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3255
Joined  2004-12-24

As I said:

SkepticX - 15 July 2009 05:22 PM

Very few people seem able to come even close to adequately separating the emotional and philosophical baggage from the analytical process (what’s real vs. what I feel) ...

Signature 

“We say, ‘Love your brother…’ We don’t say it really, but… Well we don’t literally say it. We don’t really, literally mean it. No, we don’t believe it either, but… But that message should be clear.”—David St. Hubbins

Posted: 17 July 2009 02:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1763
Joined  2006-08-20

Byron,

Thanks for the explanation. Quotes below are yours.

As I said before, I am new to this “debate”. I am neither a gun control advocate or apostate so I don’t have any emotional baggage to bring to this discussion other than my fear of crazy people, especially those whose symptoms include the need to arm themselves in public. I do think that those who carry guns deserve our fear, loathing, and social marginalization, regardless of what they think their motives are for doing so, predator or prey. Anyone who does not share the gun carriers fantasy is threatened.

The most obvious problem is that it announces to violent criminals it’s a zone in which they can more safely operate as predators.

I thought that was your reasoning….doesn’t that come across as just a little facile?  It’s clear part of the gun carriers fantasy that some “predators” would avoid certain venues simply because of their fear of an armed vigilante. It’s just ridiculous. Because we live in a more or less civil society, where only the marginal few crazy people carry weapons, there are any number of places containing gatherings of “innocents” for the predator…he doesn’t really need signs pointing to the innocent and unarmed.