speciesism as a moral illusion?
Posted: 25 February 2012 02:47 AM   [ Ignore ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2012-02-25

Hi all, I am a PhD student in moral science, working on the consistency of principles of equality applied to animal ethics. One of my research topics is moral illusions. As far as I am aware, Sam Harris is one of the very few people explicitly mentioning the existence moral illusions (as analogous to optical illusions). I want to argue that speciesism is also a moral illusion. A brief summary of that idea can be read on my website http://stijnbruers.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/speciesism-and-moral-illusions/
(at the end of that link, you find a more elaborated article)

A second thing that I want to mention: I am develloping an ethical system that consists in a coherent set of universalized ethical principles that best fits my strongest moral intuitions. This is not a “science of ethics”, but I am curious how far those two approaches (mine and a science of ethics) would overlap. A systematic construction of a coherent theory of equality can be found here http://stijnbruers.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/towards-a-coherent-theory-of-animal-equality/
And below are 8 basic principles that summarizes my ethical system.

1) A just distribution of quality of life. Maximize the qualities of life (values of well-being) of all sentient beings, giving a strong priority on increasing the lowest values of well being. I.e. maximize the qualities of life of the worst off individuals, unless this is at the expense of much more well-being of others. Sentient beings are all beings who have a functioning complex nervous system (they developed the capacity to feel and have not yet permanently lost this capacity). These include future generations, vertebrate animals, some squids,.. See ‘quasi-maximin principle’ in http://stijnbruers.wordpress.com/2010/10/17/a-model-for-a-theory-of-justice/