I’m a therapist and an atheist… question about dealing with religious clients.
Posted: 04 August 2012 05:51 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2012-03-01

I’m in a marriage and family therapy master’s program, and I hope to go onto a PhD program next year. At my internship, I have several religious clients. Since I am an atheist, I can’t help but be a little unnerved by my clients’ religious tendencies. Sometimes I worry if my clients would even come back to see me if they knew that I am an atheist. I often think about how Harris and Dawkins suggested that people who are moderately religious make it seem like faith is a virtue and, therefore, make it safe for other people who use faith as a reason to do/believe terrible things. Anywho, here’s my question: is it my responsibility, as a therapist, to encourage my religious clients to use their faith as a resource if they may benefit from it, or should I never support a person’s religiosity? Last week, I suggested to one of my religious clients to continue “talking to God”. I felt really weird about saying that, but she is paying to come see me to open up in a safe environment and to improve her quality of life, so I thought maybe I should just use her faith as a resource. What do you all think?

Posted: 04 August 2012 08:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  800
Joined  2010-11-12
jonathankimmes - 04 August 2012 05:51 PM