< 1 2 3 4 > 

What could be wrong with a strictly information processing view of consciousness?

d0rkyd00d

d0rkyd00d
Total Posts:  354
Joined  15-03-2016

17 April 2017 17:25

I’m being an irresponsible forum user, as I have not yet read all of the replies before pitching in here. 

Conscious awareness is separate from the thoughts running through your head, as I believe Harris references in “Waking Up,” which can be demonstrated through a certain kind of meditation.  I’m not an expert on meditation, so feel free to correct me, but I know one form of meditation involves simply observing the thoughts that go through your head.  In order to do this, there has to be an observer that is separate from the thought itself.  So the brain is very proficient in thought generating, but there is a higher perch from which to observe these thoughts as they are generated.  I think THAT is the conscious self. 

I have not read refutations to the Chinese room problem in a long time, but of what I do remember, I was not convinced by their arguments.  I still think the thought experiment poses a hurdle that seems difficult to clear.  If you aren’t familiar with it, here’s a link:

http://www.iep.utm.edu/chineser/#H1

Also, my intuition (and perhaps some (mis?)information) tells me that a large aspect of our consciousness grew out of our emotions, and I assume possibly our emotions precipitated from our nervous system.  I also would think that we would not want the AI we create to feel things like pain.  So if pain is a necessary component to emotion, and emotion to the experience of consciousness, is it still then still possible?

Sorry for the ride here people, I live in Colorado and the marijuana here is plentiful and good.  I’ll check back later to see if any of this is coherent.

diding

diding
Total Posts:  241
Joined  07-01-2016

18 April 2017 06:27