Project Reason Query

Kalessin

Kalessin
Total Posts:  19
Joined  02-07-2017

07 July 2017 12:29

Hello all

I work in the not-for-profit sector in the UK although I have also established a 501c3 in the US so this is an area of professional interest for me as well as my intellectual engagement with Sam Harris forum.

So, the brief snippets about Project Reason that I saw when I first came here and read about Sam Harris online were intriguing.  And according to Guidestar -

“THE REASON PROJECT IS A 501 (C) (3) NONPROFIT FOUNDATION DEVOTED TO SPREADING SCIENTIFIC KNOWLEDGE AND SECULAR VALUES IN SOCIETY. DRAWING ON THE TALENTS OF THE MOST PROMINENT AND CREATIVE THINKERS ACROSS A WIDE RANGE OF DISCIPLINES, THE RESON PROJECT SEEKS TO ENCOURAGE CRITICAL THINKING AND WISE PUBLIC POLICY THROUGH A VARIETY OF INTERREALTED PROJECTS”

This is really my sort of thing (apart from the typos!)  But there’s not much else on Guidestar apart from it being established in 2008.  The IRS Website shows Project Reason as a Private Fund with a filing for tax year 2007.  Obviously there IS a Project Reason and it’s been live in some way relatively recently (judging by the dates on these forums).

But without using some of my office research tools I can’t find out much more about it ... am I missing something obvious?  I’m a supporter of the Podcast and contribute to a range of organisations that I am in sympathy with, so it would be great to know how and what the organisation is doing.

If anyone can help do let me know!  If it’s better offline or complicated do message me smile
Thanks in advance
Kalessin

Nhoj Morley

Nhoj Morley
Total Posts:  5299
Joined  22-02-2005

07 July 2017 18:31

Project Reason was a website with a forum started many years ago by The Boss and others. Us SH Forum patrons were told to migrate to it because this site would close (never happened). It was a busy place for many years while this forum was a ghost town.